Thirst | Communication Design Practice

Close Navigation>

Announcing! Moving Design’s Call to Action Book



Last summer, Moving Design organized Call to Action: A Design Intervention on Water. The 6-week, 18-night workshop included an intense line-up of speakers ranging from Bruce Mau to Jeanne Gang, Daniel Eatock, Ed Marszewski, and 14 more. The Moving Designers were also informed on water issues by local expert thought leaders.

Catalyzed and very prolific, the Moving Designers created inspiring site-specific, multi-media projects which were conceptually one with the subject: downtown data projections, frozen water messages, a Google flight from Lake Michigan to the Gulf, water murals, and a poster campaign… Water was also personified through Twitter exchanges between the The Chicago River, Lake Michigan, and City Hall called “We Really Need to Talk.”

The intervention ended with big splash March on Water, a police-escorted parade from the original Water Tower on Michigan Avenue to Oak Street Beach complete with their very own mascot – “The 2 Billion Gallon Man.” Projects and speaker presentations are available on the workshop blog and

Moving Design is a coalition of designers and artists, working with community partners, leading initiatives that inspire change through the power of design. We use creativity as a catalyst for change, moving our community to action.

A comprehensive record of Call to Action is now available as a Blurb book!
More images after the jump.

Design director:
Bud Rodecker/3st

Colin White/3st Fall 2010 Intern

Lyndon Valicenti
Department of Environment
City of Chicago

Moving Designers:
Nick Adam
Claire Cahan
Todd Childers
Julie Heyduk
Dawn Hancock
Matthew Hoffman
Rich Klevgard
Lisa Korpan
Bill Linehan
Stacy Peterson
Bud Rodecker
Scott Reinhard
Killian Tobin
Matt Wizinsky

Moving Presentors:
Daniel Eatock
Andrew Fenchel
Lincoln Schatz
Christopher Baker

Clare Lyster
Ed Marszewski
Iker Gil

Robyn Waxman
Elliott Earls

Idea Catalysts
Donna V. Robertson
Jeanne Gang
Alan Bell

Leslie Thomas
Bruce Mau
Mike Essl
Robb Irrgang
Maria Scileppi

Thought Leaders
Sarah Herda
Phil Enquist
Martin Felsen

To Top
Close Navigation>